140-character election reactions

Image

I’ve joined Twitter. I’m not proud of it, but I have.

I’m an even bigger noob to it than Lianne so I’m probably doing it wrong, but here are my tweets in response to the election results yesterday. 140 characters is good training in conciseness, but I can’t help but add a few more comments now that I’m back in my natural habitat.

“Great result on Chch council alround, comm boards mixed, really hoping special votes will swap round 7th/8th on CDHB. http://www.ccc.govt.nz/thecouncil/howthecouncilworks/councilelections/index.aspx

“Looking at #Christchurch council results, I can see why #National aren’t giving back democracy for #ECan…”

ECan notwithstanding, there’s definitely been a leftward shift on the city council … People’s Choice have one councillor elected in each ward except Fendalton-Waimairi (the most they’ve had since councillor numbers halved in 2004) and several of the independents lean to the (relative) left too. It’s looking like a dream council for Dalziel and certainly a change from the Parker/Marryatt-era council.

Local government elections usually favour incumbents, but this time the mayor and nine of the 13 councillors are new faces. Eight councillors sought re-election – three People’s Choice, who all survived, and five I-Citz/City 1st, of whom Jamie Gough is the only survivor.

Four of these I-Citz/City 1st voted for Marryatt’s pay-rise … three are gone, and Gough has a lot to thank The Press for. Aaron Keown has managed to hold onto his community board and health board seats despite being booted off council – though he’s sitting at a precarious 7th on the health board preliminary results. Let’s hope special votes bump Heather Symes above him. (If they don’t, I’m blaming you non-voters).

Elected councillors by parties/groupings:
People’s Choice – 6
‘network of the likeminded’ – 3
I-Citz – 1
City 1st – 0
Other – 3 (Scandrett is former People’s Choice, Lonsdale might as well be National, I don’t know anything about David East)

Leave a comment...

